KeyEco at Keyweb –
not just mere lip service to green ideals

By now Keyweb has been in the web hosting business for 16 years. During this time not only hosting as an industry, but also customers’ environmental awareness has changed – and so have providers, too! The ever-growing number of users and servers means energy consumption and thus CO2 emissions are on the rise as well. As a result our environment is put under ever greater strain. We therefore regard it as our inherent duty to establish web hosting services that are sustainable and kind to the environment.

Green Electricity

Our electricity is sourced exclusively from renewable energy sources. Our data centres are operated with 100 % green electricity generated from CO2-neutral and environmentally-friendly hydropower. Hence all websites, online shops, servers and other hosting products offered by Keyweb are run on the basis of sustainable power supply. In ecological terms, electricity won from the movement of water is one of the most natural ways of producing electricity.

Energy Savings

Together with our partners we have already implemented concepts that are way above industry standard. In order to minimise our energy consumption we have, amongst other things, replaced outdated air-conditioning cabinets with next generation cooling cabinets. So now, thanks to free-running rear-curved ventilators, we are able to reduce energy consumption by 30 %. The use of EC fans with stepless controls again achieves an improved energy balance with up to 65 % more efficiency compared to a three phase motor. The free cooling also makes it possible to achieve cooling generated solely from ambient air when ambient temperatures are low, which again saves on compression energy. Thanks to the principle of cold and warm cycles in conjunction with a cold aisle containment less and less energy is being used. We also save electricity through the choice of our hardware and network components, which are sourced from particularly energy-efficient, verified brands using state-of-the-art hardware and software.


“Environmentally-conscious thinking is increasingly at the heart of planned investments by data centre providers such as Keyweb AG. Quite rightly, internet service providers are being called upon to bear responsibility for their output and are asked to align their services so that an optimised environmental performance can be achieved. Sadly the topic has degenerated into a mere marketing tool for some competitors with the original intent falling by the wayside,” says Frank Nowag, CEO at Keyweb AG.


“That’s why we have, with our slogan ‘KeyEco - not just mere lip service to green ideals’ deliberately opted for a provocative title. Jointly with our partners we are aiming for maximum sustainability – in terms of resource solutions, the environment and in terms of our fellow human beings – rather than merely following a short-lived industry trend”, explains Mr. Nowag further.

About Thermo-Tec® Cooling Products

The Thermo-Tec® GmbH is one of the largest companies in the sector, providing precision air-conditioning and computer room cooling that utilises intelligent energy saving solutions. With its headquarters in Rochlitz as well as subsidiaries in Berlin, Dresden, Munich and Weimar, the company is able to ensure Germany-wide customer support.
With extensive know-how in energy saving technologies Thermo-Tec® offers in addition to suitable products also targeted support when it comes to finding the right and most cost-effective air-conditioning system for their clients' needs.

Green Energy Certificate

Green Energy Certificate

KeyEco

KeyEco

Mehr als ein grüner Anstrich
KeyEco by Keyweb

Webhosting bei Keyweb gibt es seit nunmehr 16 Jahren. In dieser Zeit hat sich nicht nur die Hosting – Branche, sondern auch das Bewusstsein der Kunden und Service – Provider gewandelt. Mit wachsender Nutzer- und Serveranzahl steigt auch der Energieverbrauch sowie der CO 2 – Ausstoß.
Das belastet so mehr und mehr unsere Umwelt. Deshalb sehen wir es als unsere natürliche Pflicht an, Hosting auf einem konsequent umweltgerechten und nachhaltigen Fundament aufzubauen.




Ökostrom

Wir beziehen ausschließlich Strom aus regenerativen Energiequellen. Unsere Rechenzentren betreiben wir mit 100% Ökostrom, welcher aus CO2- neutraler und umweltfreundlicher Wasserkraft erzeugt wird. Somit laufen alle Internetseiten, Online-Shops, Server und weiteren Hosting-Angebote von Keyweb auf der Basis einer nachhaltigen Energieversorgung. Der aus fließendem Wasser gewonnene Strom zählt ökologisch gesehen zu den natürlichsten Formen der Stromgewinnung.

Energieeinsparung

Mit unseren Partnern wurden heute schon Konzepte umgesetzt, die über dem Branchendurchschnitt liegen. Um den Energieverbrauch zu minimieren haben wir u.a. Klimaschränke aus Altbeständen ausgetauscht und durch Klimaschränke der neuesten Generaation ersetzt. Dies bedeutet, dass durch freilaufende rückwärts gekrümmte Ventilatoren eine Energieersparnis von über 30% erreicht wird. Der Einsatz stufenlos regulierbarer EC-Ventilatoren erzielt wiederum eine Verbesserung der Energiebilanz durch einen bis zu 65% besseren Wirkungsgrad gegenüber einem 3phasigen Motor. Die freie Kühlung ermöglicht zudem, dass bei niedrigen Außentemperaturen eine Kühlung vollständig durch Außenluft erzeugt und somit Kompressionsenergie eingespart werden kann. Dank dem Prinzip der kalten und warmen Gänge in Kombination mit einer Kaltgangeinhausung wird darüber hinaus stetig weniger Energie aufgewendet. Auch bei der Wahl von Hardware- und Netzwerkkomponenten sparen wir Strom, indem wir auf aktuellste und als besonders energieeffizient verifizierte Marken-Hardware und –Software setzen.

Nachhaltigkeit

Umweltbewusstes Denken steht immer mehr im Mittelpunkt geplanter Investitionen von Datacenter-Betreibern wie der Keyweb AG. Zu Recht werden Internet Service Provider in die Pflicht und Verantwortung genommen, ihre Dienste entsprechend auf die Einhaltung und Optimierung einer positiven Ökobilanz hin auszurichten. Leider ist dieses Thema mehr und mehr zu einem Werbe- und Marketingfeldzug diverser Mitwettbewerber verkommen und das eigentliche Ansinnen gerät mehr und mehr in Vergessenheit.“ so Frank Nowag, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Keyweb AG.

 images/logos/keyeco.png

„Aus diesem Grund haben wir mit 'Keyeco, mehr als ein grüner Anstrich', einen zugegebenermaßen provokanten Titel gewählt. Wir möchten mit unseren Partnern das Maximum mit nachhaltigen Lösungen für Ressourcen, Umwelt und Mitmenschen erreichen und keinen kurzweiligen Branchentrend begleiten.“ so Frank Nowag weiter.


Über Thermo-Tec® Klimageräte

Die Thermo-Tec ® GmbH gehört zu den festen Größen im Bereich der Präzisions- und EDV-Klimatisierung mittels intelligenten Energiesparlösungen. Über den Hauptsitz in Rochlitz sowie Niederlassungen in Berlin, Dresden, München und Weimar stellt das Unternehmen einen bundesweiten Support sicher.

Mit umfassenden Energiespar-Know-how bietet Thermo-Tec ® neben den passenden Produkten auch gezielte Unterstützung bei der Systemfindung und der wirtschaftlichen Optimierung von Klimaanlagen.

Ökostrom Zertifikat

images/oekostrom-zertifikat_swbl.jpg